Klub K4

Blogging is Fun

Wimbledon 2019: Bernard Tomic fined for not meeting ‘required professional requirements’

Media playback is not supported on this gadget.

‘Em barrassing’ – Tomic’s ‘horrible’ defeat by Tsonga
Wimbledon 2019 on the BBC
Venue: All England Club Dates: 1-14 July
Protection: Live across BBC TELEVISION, radio and online with comprehensive protection on BBC iPlayer, Red Button, Connected TVs and mobile app. Full information

Bernard Tomic has been fined his full Wimbledon prize money of ₤45,000 for not meeting the “required expert requirement” throughout his 58- minute first-round defeat by Jo-Wilfried Tsonga.

Tomic lost 6-2 6-1 6-4 in the shortest men’s match at SW19 given that 2004.

Tomic can appeal versus his punishment and when asked if he felt he might be fined the Australian stated: “What for?”

The 26- year-old was also fined 2 years ago for his conduct throughout a first-round loss to Mischa Zverev.

Former Wimbledon semi-finalist Tsonga, 34, served 21 aces as Tomic’s performance was explained in commentary as “humiliating” and “distasteful”.

On Thursday, after his second-round triumph over Ricardas Berankis, Tsonga said the punishment devalued his win “a little”.

” That’s sensitive,” said the Frenchman. “I believe it’s a bit too much, but that’s the method they decide to deal with it, and I respect that. That’s it.

” For me, it’s like what I did was not win. It resembles I was simply here and I just won due to the fact that they stated he didn’t play enough.”

Wimbledon officials said that it in the opinion of the match referee “the player did not carry out to the required expert standard”.

Speaking after his defeat by Rafael Nadal on Thursday, Nick Kyrgios said: “He made his right to be in the draw. He played the whole year. He’s clearly winning enough to be at the most prestigious tournament worldwide.

” To take all his cash prize I think is outrageous. I simply hope Bernard is all right.”

Sloane Stephens, who won the United States Open in 2017, criticised the choice.

” I could see if he lost 0, 0, 0, then that would be something, but he played a 6-4 set. I believe now if the competitions are going to be their own judge and … they’re going to do that, then I can’t state I’m 100%onboard with that.

” Do I believe it’s a slippery slope? Yeah, I actually do. I actually, really do.”

Tomic was fined more than ₤11,000 and stopped by his racquet sponsor after stating he was “tired” and had called the trainer when he was not hurt throughout his 6-4 6-3 6-4 defeat by Germany’s Zverev in 2017.

Find Out More

Please follow and like us:
error